Is Jalisco the most LGBT+ state in Mexico? here the list

Members of the transgender community at a demonstration during Transgender Remembrance Day in Mexico City on Nov. 20.Fernanda Rojas / Future Publishing via Getty Image file

In Mexico, just over 50% of the population that self-identifies as LGBT+ is concentrated in nine states; What place does Jalisco occupy?

The first LGBT+ pride march is celebrated in Guadalajara. A fact that aims to visualize the gay community and demand their rights to combat violence, discrimination, inequality and, in some cases, death; of which they are still victims.

According to the National Human Rights Commission (CNDH), it is essential to take into account that homosexual, bisexual, transgender or intersex (LGBT+) people are victims of harassment, torture, arbitrary arrests and even murder throughout the world, often with complete impunity. Homosexuality remains a felony or crime in more than 70 states and is punishable by death in 11 of them. In some countries, homosexuality and transsexuality are still considered diseases.

How many Mexican men and women identify as part of the LGBT+ community?

For the first time in history, the National Institute of Statistics and Geography (INEGI) officially counted the LGBT+ population in Mexico, where it amounts about 5 million people, 5.1% of the inhabitants aged 15 and over.

In turn, of the people who self-identify as LGBT+ because of their sexual orientation, 2.3 million are bisexual, which represents 51.7% of the total of this population; 1.2 gay, 0.4 lesbian and another 0.5. 34.8% are transgender or transsexual.

Where is there more LGBT+ population in Mexico?

The State of Mexico is the federal entity that has the largest number of people who self-identify as LGBT+, with 489,594 inhabitants. They are followed by: Mexico City, Veracruz, Jalisco, Nuevo León, Puebla, Guanajuato, Chiapas, Oaxaca and Guerrero; to complete the list of the 10 states with the highest concentration.

The states with the highest percentage of LGBT+ population are: Colima, Yucatán, Querétaro, Guerrero, Campeche, Aguascalientes, Morelos and Durango.

Source: Informador